Things are getting Pinteresting

I’ve been resisting jumping on the Pinterest bandwagon as I couldn’t really see the personal value of it for me. Thinking that it was a bit too mmm scrapbooky for me.

Well, as might have been expected given my fondness for other social media, I’ve been doing a little experimenting and am beginning to see real potential foe it both as a personal and a corporate tool.

I think one of the reasons why I started blogging was to highlight things that interested me – same with Twitter – but neither option really gave me what I was after completely It looks like Pinterest could offer something a bit more – and let me categorise some of the ephemeral but interesting finds that pass by in the online stream.

I can see too how Pinterest could engage other communities, too, for example people who might not have the time to devote to Twitter and blogging, and those who think in a more visual way than I know I do.

So far, then I’m playing with it as a tool that’ll show what’s interesting to me. And like the Minerva’s pencil case analogy I use here, it’s already showing a bit of a split between the things that make me, well me – so I’m able to showcase the books and places I love, as well as the projects and tools that I get involved with. I’m not sure yet whether that reveals more about me than I’d like but I’m willing to give it a go for a little while at least.

I’ve been asked a couple of times about Pinterest at work – given the sheer number of communities and areas that are covered by just our Department I can see a role both from the policy makers’ and the external perspective. I think watch this space!

One thing I wish, though, is that boards could be private until their true purpose has been established and things are tidy in the person’s own mind. I suspect I’ll be refreshing and reconfiguring my boards in a very fluid way.

And people do seem to find pins pretty quickly – in that respect there doesn’t seem to be as much effort required in say publicising a blog or finding new followers/friends on Twitter or Facebook.

Another potential downside is the fact that maybe there’d always be ideas, concepts and special significances that maybe should always be private, that are maybe cheapened or lessened by the act of sharing. I guess time and experience will fully resolve how I feel about that.

A sample Pinterest- themed Pin via Mashable

20120407-193404.jpg

Leave a Reply

