Me and my shadow

Last Monday I spent the day as a “shadowee” in AgeUK (formerly Help the Aged and Age Concern), as part of a scheme from the NCVO to bring Government and Charities closer together.

I was surprised both at how much I already knew about what the charity did (Innocent Smoothies winter “hats”, their work to promote digital inclusion, and their work on energy), but also at what I didn’t know they did, such as the separate research arm which funds university researchers including PhD students.

 

I was made to feel really at home – even down to my own email address and got the chance to nosey into meetings on topics from the next digital inclusion campaign to discussions on research.  All in all, it was a great day, and I hope I can offer my shadowee as good an experience on her return visit.

Leave a Reply

