My New Year’s Reading Resolutions

Portrait of Virginia Woolf (January 25, 1882 –...

Image via Wikipedia

Since my post on Room, I’ve succumbed and bought a kindle and I’m finding that this has changed my reading habits, not to mention increased my access to the full range of classics as most of them are free. I won’t just read books on kindle – I’ll continue to buy paperbacks, that’s for sure, but I’ve somehow developed a list as long as my arm of items to read. A combination of books I’ve started and neglected, books I need to finish, new books I’ve bought, books I’ve downloaded onto the kindle, and (best of all) the freebies that I’ve downloaded onto the kindle. I don’t usually have more than one book on the go at once, but thanks to this device I do now.

 To try and organise myself, I’m going to (try to) be quite strict about what I read from now on: so in a changeable order, I’m going for:

  • Burmese Days (Orwell) – finishing off paperback
  • The Waves (Virginia Woolf) – paperback
  • Why E=MC2 (Brian Cox) – (started on kindle, need to complete)
  • Cleopatra’s Daughter (Margaret Moran) (I’ll deserve a guilty pleasure after the science)
  • Toast (Nigel Slater) – (finishing off on Kindle)
  • The Remains of the Day (Kazuo Ishiguro, inspired by Never Let Me Go, and A Pale View of Hills that I finished before Christmas)
  • To the Lighthouse (Virginia Woolf)
  • Bone China (Roma Tearne, inspired by Brixton Beach that I read last year)
  • Midnight’s Children (Rushdie – I started this for a bookclub, but didn’t get very far, so this is a restart)
  • number9dream (David Mitchell; again, another restart – I’ve had this recommended to me by so many people, that I feel it deserves another chance)
  • Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep (Philip K Dick) (ditto number9dream)
  • The Aeneid (Virgil)
  • Clarisssa (Richardson; the longest novel in the English language, I think. I’ve owned this for a few years, but it’s too heavy to cart around so I’m never going to comfortably read it on the train where most of my reading gets done these days)
  • Ulysses (James Joyce)
  • The Blind Assassin (Margaret Atwood, on kindle version; I’d actually forgotten about this til I started making this list!)
  • The Vampyre’s Tale (Polidori – the 19th Century vampire novel that started them all)
  • Dracula’s Guest (a kindle freebie and follow up to Dracula)
  • Anna Karenina (Tolstoy and another kindle freebie)
  • The Last Man (Mary Shelley and another freebie)

As I’ve recently discovered Shelfari.com, I’m hoping that this will act as a good visual reminder/count of what I’ve read through the year. But, in the meantime I’ve been sidetracked by my trip to see “The King’s Speech” at the cinema (I’ll blog about that later) and have found a paperback bio of George VI and the Queen Mother.

Now, the challenge is to stay away from bookshops both real and virtual and do this list justice.

One thought on “My New Year’s Reading Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Reading now… possibilities | white pebble

Leave a Reply

