Scientific literacy

Originally posted on through the looking glass:

A visitor’s view on energy policy spins around a giant wheel shaped piece of art at the front of the London Science Museum.

I was on Radio 4 last night talking about why I don’t think calls for scientific literacy are the way to solve problems of science in society.

It’s fifteen minutes long. You can listen on iPlayer or you can download it as a podcast (which also comes with some bonus Q&A at the end) and there is a shorter, text based version on the BBC News site.

As I hope I made clear in the podcast, I’m all for people learning more about the world. I just don’t think you can train people up with a basic tool kit of science and then say those people are all set to manage modern life. I think that tackles the problem the wrong way around. It also reduces science to…

View original 32 more words

Leave a Reply

